2018 ATA Election Results

Standing from left: Directors Evelyn Yang Garland, Tony Guerra, Meghan McCallum Konkol, Elena Langdon, Cristina Helmerichs, Eve Lindemuth Bodeux, Geoff Koby, Madalena Sánchez Zampaulo, and Melinda Gonzalez-Hibner.
Seated from left: Treasurer John Milan, Secretary Karen Tkaczyk, President Corinne McKay, and President-Elect Ted Wozniak.

ATA held its regularly scheduled election at ATA’s 59th Annual Conference (October 24-27, 2018) in New Orleans to elect three directors (each a three-year term). One director for a one-year term was also elected. In addition, members voted on two proposed revisions to ATA’s bylaws.

  • Directors elected, each to a three-year term:
    Eve Lindemuth Bodeux
    Melinda Gonzalez-Hibner
    Meghan McCallum Konko
  • Director elected, one position to a one-year term:
    Tony Guerra

The newly elected directors join currently serving President Corinne McKay, President-Elect Ted Wozniak, Secretary Karen Tkaczyk, Treasurer John Milan and Directors Evelyn Yang Garland, Cristina Helmerichs, Geoff Koby, Elena Langdon, and Madalena Sánchez Zampaulo.

To learn more about ATA’s governance and structure, see How ATA Works.

Bylaws Amendments Passed

In addition to electing four directors, Voting Members also voted on two proposed bylaws amendments.

  • Proposed Bylaws Amendment: Credentialed Interpreter
    Any ATA member who has been approved for Credentialed Interpreter status by the Association is automatically granted voting rights. Passed: For 536, Against 35.
  • Proposed Bylaws Amendment: Petition to Establish an ATA Division
    A petition to establish an ATA division must be signed by 150 or more active, corresponding, or associate members of the Association, at least 50 of whom must be active or corresponding members. Passed: For 528, Against 41.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The ATA Chronicle © 2023 All rights reserved.